RSS

Black History Month Part Seven

10 Feb

So, continuing with Black History Month in Canada, let me introduce you to Josiah Henson.

Josiah Henson

Josiah Henson in 1877.

Henson was born a slave on June 15, 1789, in Charles County, Maryland. He was sold three times before he reached the age of eighteen. By 1830, Henson had saved $350 to buy his freedom. After giving his master the money he was told that the price had increased to $1,000!

Henson decided to escape with his wife and four children after being cheated of his money.  Once in Canada, he formed a community where he taught other ex-slaves how to be successful farmers. American abolitionist Harriet Beecher Stowe read his autobiography, The Life of Josiah Henson (1849), which inspired her powerful and controversial novel, Uncle Tom’s Cabin.

Henson died on May 5, 1883, at the age of 93, in Dresden, Ontario.

To read “Uncle Tom’s Story of His Life. An Autobiography,” I will send you to Documenting the American South where the entire book is available to read at your leisure!

 
17 Comments

Posted by on February 10, 2014 in Black History, Canadian-related Links, Trivia

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

17 responses to “Black History Month Part Seven

  1. TBM

    February 15, 2014 at 4:09 am

    Such a shame that I know Harriet Beecher Stowe’s name, but didn’t know his. Thanks for the education.

     
    • tkmorin

      February 15, 2014 at 10:43 am

      You are wecome! πŸ™‚

       
  2. nuwansenfilmsen

    February 11, 2014 at 1:21 am

    This is great thing you are doing with your blog.
    So much to learn from it.
    Cheers
    Nuwan

     
    • tkmorin

      February 11, 2014 at 9:37 am

      Nuwan, thank you for the comment, for dropping by, and the kind words! It’s appreciated! πŸ™‚

       
  3. seeker

    February 10, 2014 at 9:43 pm

    Well, who wins in the end but Uncle Tom! Thanks for the story and the link, tk.

     
    • tkmorin

      February 10, 2014 at 10:10 pm

      Isn’t history interesting? πŸ™‚

       
  4. hairballexpress

    February 10, 2014 at 9:13 pm

    I get so HISSING MAD reaching how Josiah was cheated! But thanks fur introducing me to him and for that link to read more!

    It always astounds me to learn how mean humans can be to each other…

     
    • tkmorin

      February 10, 2014 at 9:27 pm

      My own Kat, Rufus, reminds me that such things are never found where he came from … in Kat land. Especially when I’m watching a murder mystery on the TV. I’m sorry you had to read my post. πŸ™‚

       
      • hairballexpress

        February 10, 2014 at 10:18 pm

        Oh I love reading your posts! But I hate it when humans are cruel to each other…. We kats just claw each other and move on. Dang humans….

         
  5. alesiablogs

    February 10, 2014 at 8:37 pm

    Part of my heritage is growing up in the south from the age of 12-22. I left and have not been back to live, but my family is still down there. In my hometown in Montgomery, Al-it is amazing to see the history that the town does a good job of preserving including Martin Luther King’s Church.

     
    • tkmorin

      February 10, 2014 at 9:24 pm

      Isn’t it great to see that heroes and icons, no matter the reason of hownorbwhy, are remembered? Thanks for dropping in! πŸ™‚

       
  6. seaangel4444

    February 10, 2014 at 6:40 pm

    I love the Canadian connection!! Thank you, my dear! cher xo

     
    • tkmorin

      February 10, 2014 at 6:42 pm

      I’m glad you liked it, Cher. Thanks for dropping by! πŸ™‚

       
      • seaangel4444

        February 10, 2014 at 6:45 pm

        It’s so nice to read all of your awesome posts. They always bring a smile to my face. You are my Canadian reporter!! Thank you!!! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Cher xo

         
        • tkmorin

          February 10, 2014 at 6:51 pm

          Thank you. I’m really happy that you enjoy reading my posts, Cher. I’m blushing now, btw! πŸ™‚

           
          • seaangel4444

            February 10, 2014 at 7:40 pm

            Blush away, my dear! It’s awesome to read your posts and makes me feel closer to Canada as I eat my Chicago deep dish pizza! *grin* Seriously, it makes me really happy to read your posts! πŸ™‚ Cher xo

             

Leave a Reply

 
