RSS

Change is coming …

20 Oct
Writing

Writing (Photo credit: jjpacres)

I want to advise everyone that there is a change coming to this blog.

Starting in November, I plan to post weekly instead of daily.  Because of the nature of my blog (eg. This Day In Canadian History), I will re-blog appropriate posts from the previous year, with current follow-up links to read more about that day’s post.  But I will also be adding new content: This Week In Canadian History. I may end up writing twice weekly.  I also plan on writing more Canadian facts, trivia and biographical posts that doesn’t necessarily fit in specific dates.

I would appreciate any comment you have about this change.

I’m hoping for the following result from this change:

  • More time for research will offer even better content.
  • More time to add more information on my website, and my blog.
  • More time to work on other projects, such as writing books.
  • More time to enjoy your posts.
  • And more time for misc. life projects.

This blog has grown because of your likes and comments, and I am very thankful for each of you!  I look forward to our continued readership and conversations.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

41 responses to “Change is coming …

  1. maggieannthoeni

    December 10, 2013 at 9:27 pm

    I’ve been absent due to computer issues that have taken almost 2 months to resolve! (I live some distance from convenient resources and tech support.) I had a WordPress email notice re a comment reply, an exchange in which I mentioned a Vietnam war protest song, gave a few lines, and explained I’ve not been able to track down name of song, artist, or find any evidence that it exists! The WordPress email notice was you mentioning you’d given it a go also, with no luck. I wanted to thank you for taking the trouble and am as puzzled as ever at the songs evanescent quality! (At least I think it was one of your posts that caused me to bring up the song mystery … now that I think of it, perhaps one other site I follow might be the one .. hmm.) In any case! I’m glad to be back and look forward to again tracking and learning Canadian history through your wonderful posts.

     
    • tkmorin

      December 10, 2013 at 10:33 pm

      You did indeed ask here. I tried, but couldn’t figure it out. But a fellow blogger figured it out. You can see Maurice Barry’s reply at:
      https://tkmorin.wordpress.com/2013/11/05/i-admit-defeat/
      Enjoy! And welcome back, my friend! I can’t imagine what it would be like to be without a computer for that long! Yikes!

       
      • maggieannthoeni

        December 11, 2013 at 4:59 am

        Amazing and heartfelt thank yous to you and to Maurice B. I posted a thanks to him also at the link, and am relieved to not have to chase down confirmation of some phenomenon to explain – such as evidence of a parallel universe! (Parallel universes are an excellent possibility, but there is welcome, too, in confirmation of ordinary earth-bound groundedness!)

        I’m pretty impressed with the results of random, wide-open, appeal on seemingly tiny questions. Tracking down that song has really stymied me – it even stumped a passionate resource of 60’s music in San Francisco! (If enough of my defunct computer’s hard drive info is available when I get a “usb to ide adaptor” device, and can access files, perhaps I’ll be able to share back to the San Fran website!) “New Design” is a simple song, almost a ditty, but packs a punch for me given how things were during the Vietnam War. The insights from that time continue.

        All this ‘aside’ detail – interjected into your ‘Change is Coming’ post! Wonderful that somehow it seems perfectly if oddly ‘no biggie’. Here, at your celebration of Canada, all seems well. That is good.

        Thank you!!

         
        • tkmorin

          December 11, 2013 at 11:01 am

          I am very happy that Maurice found it for you, as I see it meant so much to you! I know it can be frustrating to be so close, but not being able to identify it.
          I am happy for you! 🙂

           
  2. First Night Design • Rogues & Vagabonds

    October 27, 2013 at 10:16 am

    A change, they say, is as good as a rest. When I started blogging, I imagined, rightly, that I would be hard-pressed managing once a week, let alone once a day. It still proves difficult but I go with the flow. Sometimes I post three days in a row. Sometimes a week goes by with nothing. I have learned to live with it and I hope my readers have too. Here’s the changes – have a relaxing drink on me!

     
    • tkmorin

      October 27, 2013 at 10:24 am

      Thank you … I’m pleased to hear from my loyal readers that they (you) understand. Relieves my mind. I would to lose readerships because of my decision … 🙂

       
  3. Leslie Welsh Robinson

    October 23, 2013 at 1:18 pm

    Thank you for all your hard work on this blog — I understand why you’d want to reduce the frequency of publication. I don’t know how you managed to do it!

     
    • tkmorin

      October 23, 2013 at 2:52 pm

      It’s actually somewhat painless if you enjoy it, but. I have to admit I have been neglecting too many other projects. 🙂

       
  4. Theresa

    October 22, 2013 at 12:18 pm

    Change is good, and I can more than appreciate the “post a day” challenge. Regardless of what you decide, I will be part of your community. Your blog is top notch!

     
    • tkmorin

      October 22, 2013 at 1:43 pm

      Aw, thank you so much, Theresa! I appreciate your words more than you can ever know. 🙂

       
    • tkmorin

      October 22, 2013 at 1:43 pm

      Aw, thank you so much, Theresa! I appreciate your words more than you can ever know. 🙂

       
  5. appydazeblog

    October 21, 2013 at 6:59 pm

    Sounds like a great idea – a post a day can be overwhelming.
    I also think you should consider creating a Canadian History app of your posts. I think it would be a winner 🙂

     
    • tkmorin

      October 22, 2013 at 8:52 am

      Thank you very much! I like the idea of an app … Only wish I knew how to make one LOL

       
  6. urkaicommunity

    October 21, 2013 at 2:43 pm

    I don’t know how you have managed to do a post a day, especially with all of the research. Change is good!

     
    • tkmorin

      October 21, 2013 at 6:40 pm

      Thank you so much, I appreciate that! 🙂

       
  7. oldmainer

    October 21, 2013 at 10:35 am

    However you do it, I’m still a big fan. Will take them however I can get them. Thoroughly enjoy your work and appreciate the effort you put into it.

     
    • tkmorin

      October 21, 2013 at 10:54 am

      Wow, thank you!! It’s much appreciated! 🙂

       
  8. CooperDaKat

    October 21, 2013 at 8:52 am

    Like seeker said, change is good. I understand the time thing. I barely have time to post myself lately…and my posts don’t take the research time that yours do. Plus I had a computer crash a few weeks ago that I am slowly recovering from. I’m looking forward to This Week in Canadian History! 🙂

     
    • tkmorin

      October 21, 2013 at 10:48 am

      Thanks Cooper! 🐱
      I also feel very bad about computer crash … been there, but there are still some more that I should backup ….

       
  9. L. Marie

    October 21, 2013 at 8:28 am

    Understandable. I hope this will mean less stress for you.

     
    • tkmorin

      October 21, 2013 at 10:47 am

      Thanks L. Marie. I hope less posts means more quality posts …

       
  10. weggieboy

    October 21, 2013 at 6:53 am

    It sounds like a good idea, for the reasons you outline. Though daily updates are interesting, the realization that they don’t just happen, but require research and verification of details to have credibility and value to your followers is understood: It ain’t easy! (But you do the job so well that the less frequent posts will be phenomenal!)

     
    • tkmorin

      October 21, 2013 at 10:44 am

      Thank for that, I appreciate it very much!! 🙂

       
  11. dcmontreal

    October 21, 2013 at 6:25 am

    Perhaps you’ve heard this … but I think your Twitter account has been hacked, or maybe you really do want me to buy that diet product!!!!

     
    • tkmorin

      October 21, 2013 at 10:43 am

      I keep changing the password, and still it’s hacked. I’m going to have to do some serious research to find out how to rid myself of the darn hacker! Any tweet that starts with “I’m recommending this site” is so NOT mine! Yesterday was annoying – today is making me angry, and fear because I don’t want to lose all that work …
      I appreciate you letting me know, though, in case I hadn’t noticed.

       
      • dcmontreal

        October 21, 2013 at 10:45 am

        Good luck with the hacker and the new blog format.

         
  12. alesiablogs

    October 21, 2013 at 1:28 am

    you have done an incredible job. Be proud and enjoy the break. I will just have to go through your blog and look at the ones I have missed~!

     
    • tkmorin

      October 21, 2013 at 10:40 am

      Thanks for the encouraging words – I appreciate it! 🙂

       
  13. hairballexpress

    October 20, 2013 at 11:49 pm

    Its hard to imagine your blog getting better… The human and I love it (even though I can’t read it every day because I Have to snag the humans smartphone while she’s distracted with the Creature)…
    I’ll be watching fur it !
    Shrimp

     
    • tkmorin

      October 21, 2013 at 10:38 am

      Ah, thank you, Shrimp! Maybe this change of frequency will work out fur you: leave you with more time to get you’re human’s attention! 🙂

       
      • hairballexpress

        October 25, 2013 at 7:59 pm

        Yes, maybe. I keep trying to get her to fire human #2, so he doesn’t keep taking attention from me …but she just refuses to. Stubborn thing !

        Shrimp

         
        • tkmorin

          October 25, 2013 at 10:48 pm

          Yes, I can see that … when I have worked out a plan to reclaim our human’s laps, I will share with you. In kat-speak of course, so we’ll all be in synch! =^.^=

           
          • hairballexpress

            October 26, 2013 at 2:36 am

            I’ll look furward to it ! We kats have to work together !

            Shrimp

             
  14. seeker

    October 20, 2013 at 6:50 pm

    Change is good and I am right beside you.

     
    • tkmorin

      October 20, 2013 at 8:17 pm

      Thanks, P! I appreciate the support! 🙂

       
      • seeker

        October 20, 2013 at 10:23 pm

        One question, will you be keeping Bite Size Canada open?

         
        • tkmorin

          October 20, 2013 at 10:48 pm

          I want to keep the blog and the website going, as well as Twitter (though with this hacker driving me bananas, maybe not Twitter) … Hopefully I’ll have more to devote to it.

           
          • seeker

            October 20, 2013 at 11:38 pm

            Oh good, thanks. I like to re-read and refer to some of your post. So much history to learn. Darn hackers. How can you prevent that? Maybe not the place to discuss. 😛 Nanight. Back to work tomorrow.

             
          • tkmorin

            October 21, 2013 at 10:32 am

            It is totally cloudy and raining today – hope the weather is nicer in B.C. …
            I’m happy that you like my post enough to re-read sometimes … Thanks! 🙂

             

Leave a Reply

 
