RSS

Canadian History – Bicycles in War?

28 Aug

This is an amazing story, with great photos, worth re-blogging! Enjoy! – tk

Urkai Community

After doing a little research, I discovered, Canadian Troops used bicycles in WW2! I am astounded that in all of my history classes, as well as having every last family member of WW2 generation, involved in the war, I had no idea that bicycles were used. I am now on a mission to head to a couple of museums, to discover more about this incredible piece of history.

canadian troops

Canadian Troops Landing at Juno Beach June 6, 1944 Photographer: Gilbert Milne Library and Archives Canada

Canadian troops1

Troops from Highland Light Infantry and the West Nova Scotia Highlanders June 5, 1944 Photographer: Gilbert Milne

Canadian troops2

 

View original post

 
5 Comments

Posted by on August 28, 2013 in Fact of the Day, Reblogged, Transportation, WWII

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “Canadian History – Bicycles in War?

  1. michelinewalker

    August 30, 2013 at 3:40 pm

    It’s strange how we don’t always see the obvious. Of course, they needed bikes. It made them mobile at a low cost and bikes are small. The soldiers who landed in Normandy would not have had too many other ways of getting around. Best. Micheline

     
    • tkmorin

      August 30, 2013 at 4:03 pm

      That’s exactly what I was thinking when I first read it: Duh, that just makes sense!” I also really liked the pictures.
      🙂

       
  2. seeker

    August 28, 2013 at 9:42 pm

    I didn’t know that. That was interesting, Tk. Good find. Thank you.

     
    • tkmorin

      August 28, 2013 at 9:50 pm

      It is darn interesting, isn’t it? I’m sure you know the feeling: you go through WordPress’s “blogs I follow” because you know that the posts you subscribe to is going to be good .. And you come across one post that just HAS to be shared … You know … 🙂

       
      • seeker

        August 28, 2013 at 9:54 pm

        I do the same. If the gravatar or the title of the people who visited the site catches my eyes, I follow. That is why my comment line is:
        Leave a comment, so that others may follow you. It’s not for me but for the benefit of others.

         

Leave a Reply

 
