RSS

Toronto vs Minnesota

24 Aug
English: Toronto Maple Leafs' ice hockey jerse...

Toronto Maple Leafs’ ice hockey jersey. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

On August 24, 1988, the Minnesota North Stars hockey player, Dino Ciccarelli, was sentenced to 24 hours in jail and a $1,000 fine for assault.  Of course, he was released after just two hours.

This marked the first NHL player to be jailed for a penalty on ice.  He had hit Luke Richardson, of the Toronto Maple Leafs, over the head twice with a hockey stick!

 
8 Comments

Posted by on August 24, 2013 in On This Day

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

8 responses to “Toronto vs Minnesota

  1. seeker

    August 25, 2013 at 11:48 pm

    I think Hockey is a game where violence is mostly permitted.

     
    • tkmorin

      August 26, 2013 at 8:36 am

      Unfortunately, yes, I agree.

       
  2. sheafferhistorian

    August 25, 2013 at 6:57 pm

    If I’m not mistaken, Dr. Clark #17- carved him up later that season.

     
    • tkmorin

      August 25, 2013 at 10:00 pm

      Really? That would be a cool turn of event …

       
  3. Escaping Elegance

    August 24, 2013 at 8:32 pm

    I never understand why fighting is such a part of hockey! I can’t watch it… Especially our local junior team when it is an arena full of people cheering 16 yr old boys to fight! My husband takes my boys to watch but I refuse.

     
    • tkmorin

      August 24, 2013 at 8:45 pm

      I totally understand! I don’t remember it being so bad when I was younger, but I’m not sure. The parents have definitely changed, though.

       
  4. afterthekidsleave

    August 24, 2013 at 5:57 pm

    I rarely watch NHL hockey any more, because of the ridiculous brawling.

     
    • tkmorin

      August 24, 2013 at 6:02 pm

      That’s exactly why I don’t watch it either! So I totally understand!
      … anyway, it seems that any time I sneak peak a game, our side seem to let a puck into our net!
      LOL 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
