RSS

“But Daddyyy ….!”

28 Jul

On July 28, 1819:

English: Richard John Uniacke Source: Archives...

Richard John Uniacke was tried for murder as the result of a duel. He was led into court by his father who was Attorney-General of Nova Scotia.

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

6 responses to ““But Daddyyy ….!”

  1. Debra She Who Seeks

    July 28, 2013 at 4:50 pm

    You say he was tried for murder. Was he convicted?

     
    • tkmorin

      July 28, 2013 at 5:24 pm

      Acquitted! I Wo.uld love to read the transcript of that trial.
      ::-)

       
  2. Maurice A. Barry

    July 28, 2013 at 4:02 pm

    I have no idea why, (well that’s not quite true; something of a resemblance to one of the characters) but that picture reminded me of this video 🙂

    Please don’t kill me 🙂

     
    • tkmorin

      July 29, 2013 at 12:42 pm

      Maurice, I only just watched the video, and OMG that’s funny! I ended up watching so many of them. Very, very cool! Thank you for the smile! 🙂

       
  3. seeker

    July 28, 2013 at 3:02 pm

    I guess a duel is against the law. I thought it’s lawful?

     
    • tkmorin

      July 28, 2013 at 3:49 pm

      I suppose it was at one time .. I’m glad it isn’t any more though … can you just imagine? Someone could shoot someone and then say it was a mutual duel, even if it wasn’t! Still, I’m not sure when it was taken off the books … G’Day, P! 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
