RSS

Manitoba – Do Not Poke an Alligator

12 Jul
English: A montage of Winnipeg. The Legistlati...

A montage of Winnipeg. The Legistlative Building and downtown at top. Going clockwise it is the forks on the right, Portage & Main with former Canwest Building and Richardson Buildings, next is the Pavilion at Assiniboine Park, Osborne Village, and finally the Esplanade Riel bridge. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

Manitoba is a great Province, isn’t it?  Beautiful, great people … fantastic!

But Manitoba has a few wacky laws that are still on the books, too.  Here are just two of them:
In Winnipeg, for instance, it is illegal to provoke an alligator into a fight. Although apparently,
you have to poke it, sit on it, and pull its tail before it is considered “illegally provoking”.

But that’s not all.  It is an offence to live in a bus, railcar, streetcar, or truck in Thompson.

 

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

19 responses to “Manitoba – Do Not Poke an Alligator

  1. Great writing

    July 25, 2013 at 10:38 pm

    I like football.

     
  2. L. Marie

    July 13, 2013 at 8:44 am

    I was hoping to poke a few alligators. Guess I can’t now.

     
    • tkmorin

      July 13, 2013 at 11:32 am

      Heehee … It may not be illegal in Ontario … LOL 🙂

       
  3. hermitsdoor

    July 13, 2013 at 7:14 am

    How many alligators are in Winnipeg? What is the history behind such a regulation?

     
    • tkmorin

      July 13, 2013 at 11:31 am

      I would love to know that myself, but the answer is, I don’t know … 🙂

       
  4. seeker

    July 13, 2013 at 1:31 am

    Does sticking my tongue out to the gator consider illegal? ;P

     
    • tkmorin

      July 13, 2013 at 11:28 am

      Yep, no teasing allowed! LOL 🙂

       
  5. Jon The Blogcentric

    July 12, 2013 at 11:30 pm

    Funny. I never learned of those laws when I lived in Winnipeg.

     
    • tkmorin

      July 13, 2013 at 11:24 am

      Did you poke an alligator, not knowing it was against the law? Heehee 🙂

       
      • Jon The Blogcentric

        July 13, 2013 at 6:32 pm

        I didn’t even know alligators lived in Manitoba. If they did I assumed at the Assiniboine Park Zoo.

         
  6. michaelmulholland

    July 12, 2013 at 9:47 pm

    Smart rule…

     
    • tkmorin

      July 12, 2013 at 10:22 pm

      I’m glad they warned us … 🙂

       
  7. centristcanuck

    July 12, 2013 at 9:26 pm

    Hmm, I wonder what happened exactly that someone felt the need to write down a law stating do not provoke an alligator.

     
    • tkmorin

      July 12, 2013 at 9:39 pm

      That question always pops into my mind as well … Thanks for dropping by! 🙂

       
  8. hereisandrea

    July 12, 2013 at 6:58 pm

    Very funny…I never associated Manitoba with alligators! lol!

     
    • tkmorin

      July 12, 2013 at 7:14 pm

      No, neither did I!! 🙂

       
  9. Leslie Welsh Robinson

    July 12, 2013 at 5:24 pm

    I’d love to live in a railcar! I’m never moving to Thompson.

     

Leave a Reply

 
