RSS

Bill Left Too Soon

04 Jun
Toronto Maple Leafs

Toronto Maple Leafs (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Bill Barilko (1927 – 1951) left this world too soon at age 24.

Bill was a hockey player.  He played for the Toronto Maple Leafs from 1946 to 1951.  He was a member of Stanley Cup winnings teams every one of those years.  He scored the winning goal, in overtime, that helped Toronto to defeat the Montreal Canadiens 4 games to 1.

He died in a plane crash almost immediately after this game!

I highly suggest visiting CBC Archives for an in-depth article (and video) about this!

 
12 Comments

Posted by on June 4, 2013 in On This Day

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

12 responses to “Bill Left Too Soon

  1. Cotton Boll Conspiracy

    June 5, 2013 at 9:48 am

    I recall reading that Barilko’s remains weren’t discovered until 1962, and that the Leafs didn’t win another Cup between Barilko’s last season and the year his body was found.

     
    • tkmorin

      June 5, 2013 at 10:24 am

      Really? I’ll have to check that out …. Sounds “other worldly” doesn’t it? 🙂

       
  2. L. Marie

    June 5, 2013 at 7:48 am

    Wow. So young. How sad.

     
    • tkmorin

      June 5, 2013 at 9:36 am

      Yeah, it is. There a few that died young, too soon … I’m thinking of doing posts on some of the more notable Canadians .. Not sure though. What do you think?

      Thank you, by the way, for such a great follower … Oh no, did sound like I’m the leader of a cult? Heehee. 😆

       
  3. seeker

    June 4, 2013 at 11:10 pm

    I only know the great one, Wayne.

     
    • tkmorin

      June 5, 2013 at 9:30 am

      My knowledge is limited too. Bobby Orr, Laplante … Not many. 😉

       
  4. prayingforoneday

    June 4, 2013 at 6:22 pm

    Being a big sports fan and being “Almost” able to handle American Sport..I will give this a watch. I know about 1 football team. Manchester United FC (England) Soccer really (Dunno why, Soccer is the worlds NO1 sport)
    They won a MAJOR European trophy and on the flight back, half the team died, So sad.

    I will give this a watch..

     
    • tkmorin

      June 4, 2013 at 6:36 pm

      Oh, that’s awful!

      I’m not a sport fan; the only time I watch sports is during the Olympics. 🙂

       
      • prayingforoneday

        June 4, 2013 at 7:07 pm

        I wasn’t born when it happened, but as the team are only based 300 miles away in England it was always news. And every year we pay homage…

        The sport I watch is Football (Soccer)
        I tried HARD with others sports.
        The London Olympics last year, I never watched one thing apart from the opening and closing ceremony lol

         
        • tkmorin

          June 4, 2013 at 7:31 pm

          It makes me smile when I hear “Soccer” and it’s a synonym for “football”. We had Soccer and Football as two different sports … do you have two??

          Well, that goes to show you how much I don’t watch sports!

          Half of the idea of watching the Olympics is pride — rutin’ for the home team! The other half is watching “the best of the best” vie to win the gold. But watching hockey or anything else at other times? Naw …. 🙂

           

Leave a Reply

 
