RSS

Shoot!

16 May
Cover of "Shoot!"

Cover of Shoot!

Do you like Westerns? Some of those movies turned out to be classics. Well, I ask because the Canadian West of the 19th and early 20th centuries was teeming with villains.

For instance, there’s the case of the McLean Gang made up of three brothers, Allan, Charles and Archie McLean. In the late 1870s, they terrorized Kamloops, British Columbia.

They stole everything horses, liquor and ammunition. Then one day, the law caught up to them. There was a shoot out (can you hear the western music playing?). Two men, including a police constable were shot. They were captured, convicted by a jury — which took a whole 20 minutes of deliberations — and hanged together in New Westminster in 1881.

Want to read more about them? Yeah, I thought so. I suggest visiting The Gold Trail, a two-page .pdf; another interesting piece can be found at 1879-1880 – The Murder of Johnny Ussher at the Canadian Legal History. For a book, I’m sure you will also enjoy reading Shoot!.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

18 responses to “Shoot!

  1. greenlightlady

    May 17, 2013 at 8:47 pm

    Kamloops is my hometown ( I moved away over 25 years ago), and I’m embarrassed to admit I only just learned about this fascinating bit of history. Thank you for enlightening me. πŸ™‚

    Blessings ~ Wendy

     
    • tkmorin

      May 17, 2013 at 9:05 pm

      You are welcome … I’m really glad you enjoyed it! Aren’t historical tid bits darn interesting sometimes? πŸ™‚

       
  2. WM

    May 17, 2013 at 5:13 am

    Yes, I’ve heard the western music playing πŸ™‚ Thank you!

     
  3. seeker

    May 17, 2013 at 12:59 am

    Wasn’t Bonanza a Canadian Western Movie? πŸ˜›

     
    • tkmorin

      May 17, 2013 at 1:02 pm

      It was a tv series, not sure if it was made in a movie … but I did a quick-and-dirty search, and apparently we’ve made a few. They weren’t big hits, though. If my list of what to write next about wasn’t so long, I’d probably take the time to write about it … I’ll put it on my list anyway and see what happens.
      G’day, P! πŸ™‚

       
  4. johns448

    May 16, 2013 at 3:30 pm

    You could do a Wild West version of Canadian Bacon eh?

     
    • tkmorin

      May 16, 2013 at 3:40 pm

      That makes me wonder … Has Canada ever produced a western? Ummm … I will have to search. Thanks for dropping by and commenting! πŸ™‚

       
      • johns448

        May 16, 2013 at 4:24 pm

        Any time, you are very interesting, and very Canadian, lol.

         
        • tkmorin

          May 16, 2013 at 4:28 pm

          Heehee. … I will take that as a big compliment! Thanks, eh? πŸ™‚

           
      • Michelle Bennetts Heumann

        May 17, 2013 at 9:35 am

        Hell on Wheels films in Calgary, and while it’s for an American channel and it’s about American history, I’m pretty sure the actual production company is Canadian. If you haven’t watched it, I highly recommend it! πŸ™‚

         
        • tkmorin

          May 17, 2013 at 9:37 am

          Cool! Thank you! πŸ™‚

           
  5. centristcanuck

    May 16, 2013 at 9:56 am

    They should make a movie or a TV-miniseries on this and get Ryan Gosling to play one of the characters.

     
    • tkmorin

      May 16, 2013 at 10:17 am

      That would be so cool! πŸ™‚

       
  6. superduque777

    May 16, 2013 at 8:25 am

    Yo tambiΓ©n tengo blog y escribo: http://superduque777.wordpress.com/

     
  7. Professor VJ Duke

    May 16, 2013 at 8:14 am

    Westerns = John Wayne. At least in my mind!!

     
    • tkmorin

      May 16, 2013 at 9:12 am

      By far, for me also. πŸ™‚

       

Leave a Reply

 
