RSS

‘He thought I was nuts': Guidance counselor snaps photos of wild squirrels interacting with miniature props

17 May

Originally posted on National Post | News:

Wednesday was Nancy Rose’s day off. For most of the afternoon, the high school guidance counselor from Bedford, N.S., was crouched on her porch, her camera fixed on a miniature bathtub that was carefully staged on a railing. Ms. Rose was waiting for a squirrel to approach the tub and reach for the peanuts inside. National Post reporter Jake Edmiston interrupted Wednesday’s photo shoot to speak to the photographer, whose whimsical depictions of the woodland creatures are garnering international attention.

Q:  So how did this all start?

A:  I was taking pictures of the squirrels in my backyard. After taking the same shot over and over again, I decided that maybe I could add something to make it more interesting. One of the first things I noticed was a squirrel standing on a pumpkin, holding a stem. He looked like a ship captain.

Q: How many hours does it take…

View original 585 more words

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

19 responses to “‘He thought I was nuts': Guidance counselor snaps photos of wild squirrels interacting with miniature props

  1. Shelli@howsitgoingeh?

    May 21, 2013 at 9:12 pm

    I was freaking out when I saw this – I love it!!!!!!! Thanks for sharing!!!!

     
    • tkmorin

      May 21, 2013 at 9:22 pm

      She is so talented, eh? I totally agree! :)

       
  2. The Fourth Continent

    May 19, 2013 at 11:39 pm

    Love it! Now where can I find squirrels .. And trees..

     
    • tkmorin

      May 20, 2013 at 1:03 am

      Yeah, I don’t believe you have them in Greeland, do you? They’re just so darn cute, though … :-)

       
  3. pishnguyen

    May 19, 2013 at 10:07 pm

    This is adorably fantastic! It totally made my evening. :)

     
    • tkmorin

      May 19, 2013 at 11:32 pm

      I am so happy to hear that. She is talented! :)

       
  4. L. Marie

    May 18, 2013 at 1:25 am

    You have been nominated for the Wonderful Team Member Award and the Versatile Blogger Award. Congrats! Here are the details: http://lmarie7b.wordpress.com/2013/05/18/one-post-to-thank-them-all/

     
    • tkmorin

      May 18, 2013 at 9:29 am

      Thank you, L.Marie! That’s a new one for me. :-)
      I’m a little behind on this blog, but I’ll certainly take care of it ASAP! :-)

       
  5. L. Marie

    May 17, 2013 at 11:45 pm

    That’s the most adorable thing I’ve seen all week!

     
    • tkmorin

      May 18, 2013 at 9:25 am

      It was for me to! I love animal pics, and miniatures are one of my pastimes, so I practically drooled over them! We,, metaphorically speaking, anyways.
      I’m glad you checked it out! :-)

       
  6. bearspawprint

    May 17, 2013 at 10:20 pm

    You were right, the link was worthwhile. Thanks.

     
    • tkmorin

      May 17, 2013 at 10:21 pm

      Pretty cool, eh? :-)

       
      • bearspawprint

        May 17, 2013 at 10:24 pm

        Your squirrels are smaller than our North-East Florida squirrels.

         
        • tkmorin

          May 17, 2013 at 10:26 pm

          I wonder if living through our winters have anything to do with it :)

           
          • bearspawprint

            May 17, 2013 at 10:30 pm

            Could be, though other critters, such as white-tail deer and bears are bigger. ?

             
  7. seeker

    May 17, 2013 at 9:15 pm

    You found your story god, TK. Good one and the links attached to it. Rose found her passion. Maybe, I’ll hunt for squirrel this weekend. Thanks.

     
    • tkmorin

      May 17, 2013 at 9:17 pm

      hheeheeee Rufus will not let me type …. He says Puurrrr to you and yours, btw :)

       
  8. aerislair

    May 17, 2013 at 9:04 pm

    Reblogged this on Pretty Head in the Clouds.

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,005 other followers

